You are here

Permanent Participants & Indigenous Peoples' Secretariat

The preamble to the Ottawa Declaration frequently mentions Indigenous Peoples and acknowledges the importance of their traditional knowledge in improving the "collective understanding of the circumpolar Arctic". There are now six Permanent Participants to the Arctic Council:

  •     Aleut International Association (AIA);
  •     Arctic Athabaskan Council (AAC);
  •     Gwich'in Council International (GCI);
  •     Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC);
  •     Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON);
  •     and Saami Council.

An Indigenous Peoples Secretariat (IPS), based in Copenhagen, was established in 1991 to assist and co-ordinate the involvement of Arctic Indigenous Peoples in the AEPS. This secretariat was continued in the Arctic Council (see While each Permanent Participant may bring different perspectives and priorities to the council and may engage with different working groups, the Permanent Participants seek to support each other.As a result of the council's commitment to improve its efficiency and effectiveness and the recent decision by ministers to establish a task force to look at "institutional issues" including amendment of the council's rules of procedure, the future of IPS is under active consideration. A permanent Arctic Council Secretariat has been established in Tromso, Norway and it may be that moving IPS to Tromso to liaise more closely with the council secretariat is appropriate. All Permanent Participants are currently considering the future of IPS.

Arctic Athabaskan Council


Arctic Athabaskan Council
300 Range Rd, PO Box 39
Whitehorse STN C S C
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5X9
Phone: +1 867 335 6030

Allakaket Tribal Council
Chickaloon Village
Council of Yukon First Nations
Dene Nation
Dot Lake Traditional Council
Eagle Tribal Council

Native Village of Eklutna
Healy Lake Traditional Council
Huslia Tribal Council
Native Village of Kluti-kaah
Louden Tribal Council

Mentasta Tribal Council
Northway Tribal Council
Nulato Traditional Council
Stevens Village Tribal Government
Native Village of Tanana
Tetlin Tribal Council


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer