You are here

Arctic Leaders Summit

There is considerable solidarity among and between Arctic Indigenous Peoples, anchored in the Arctic Council. The board of the Copenhagen-based Indigenous Peoples Secretariat is a forum in which the six Arctic Indigenous Peoples organizations with permanent participant status in the council meet regularly to discuss and to strategize around issues. Arctic Indigenous Peoples also meet regularly at meetings of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, and often support eachother in international meetings to implement global and/or regional conventions such as the Convention on Biological Diversity, the global convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants, and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change. Certainly, persuading Arctic states to implement the 2007 UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) is a task to which all Arctic Indigenous Peoples are committed. This firm commitment to co-operation is not surprising, for while political and constitutional circumstances differ in the countries of the circumpolar world, the problems facing its Indigenous peoples are, in many respects, quite similar. Periodically, the political leaders of Arctic Indigenous Peoples meet to exchange views, to renew mutual support, and to chart collective paths into the future. Five such Arctic Leaders Summits have been held and each has resulted in a declaration specifying shared political positions and commitments to action. AAC greatly values the Arctic Leaders Summits, and since it was formed in 2000 has participated in each.

Arctic Athabaskan Council


Arctic Athabaskan Council
300 Range Rd, PO Box 39
Whitehorse STN C S C
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5X9
Phone: +1 867 335 6030

Allakaket Tribal Council
Chickaloon Village
Council of Yukon First Nations
Dene Nation
Dot Lake Traditional Council
Eagle Tribal Council

Native Village of Eklutna
Healy Lake Traditional Council
Huslia Tribal Council
Native Village of Kluti-kaah
Louden Tribal Council

Mentasta Tribal Council
Northway Tribal Council
Nulato Traditional Council
Stevens Village Tribal Government
Native Village of Tanana
Tetlin Tribal Council


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer